The village of Nyack has been a thriving commercial center for Rockland County since the 1870’s. The Historical Society of the Nyacks’ new exhibit features photographs and memorabilia from the many shops that provided both necessities and luxury goods. Groceries, bakeries, clothing shops, shoe stores, hardware stores, laundries, newspaper and stationary stores, cigar stores and saloons: Nyack businesses in the years before the appearance of shopping malls will be showcased at the Historical Society of the Nyacks’ Museum.
The exhibit will open Sunday March 6th and will continue Sundays through May 29th at the Historical Society of the Nyacks Museum, 50 Piermont Avenue, Nyack NY 10960. The museum is situated in the lower level of the historic Depew House across the street from Nyack’s Memorial Park and adjacent to the Nyack Library parking lot off Hudson Street. Enter below the front steps. Open every Sunday from 1-4 pm. For more information, please visit our website at www.nyackhistory.org or call 845 358-3829
In the library display cases near the Broadway entrance, the Historical Society of the Nyacks is exhibiting artifacts found during the restoration of the John Green house on lower Main Street. This exhibit also features photographs of the house and information regarding the business ventures that John Green initiated in early 19th Century Nyack. This exhibit can be viewed during the library’s operating hours.